CHAIRMAN Martin P. Honigberg

COMMISSIONERS Kathryn M. Bailey Michael S. Giaimo

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Debra A. Howland

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE



PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 21 S. Fruit St., Suite 10 Concord, N.H. 03301-2429

May 8, 2019

TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964

Tel. (603) 271-2431

FAX No. 271-3878

Website: www.puc.nh.gov

APX Environmental Markets 2001 Gateway Place, Suite 315W San Jose, CA 95110

Re: First Calendar Quarter Emissions Verification Summary for Certified Biomass Renewable Energy Sources

Dear GIS Administrator:

Registry Administrator

Renewable Portfolio Standard eligibility determinations of generation facilities that use biomass fuels are conditional as required by RSA 362-F:11, III. Within ten days of receiving the quarterly notice from the New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services (DES) that a facility has met DES emissions standards, the Commission must designate the facility as eligible to produce Renewable Energy Certificates (RECs).

Based on the DES recommendation received May 2, 2019, the Commission hereby certifies the following wood-fired power plants listed in **Table 1: Calendar Quarter 1, 2019 - NH REC Eligible Biomass Power Plants**, provided below, as renewable energy sources for the first quarter of 2019. These facilities meet average emission rates of 0.02 lb/MMBtu (or an alternative plan), and 0.075 lb/MMBtu, for total suspended particulate (TSP) and nitrogen oxides (NOx), respectively.

| Table 1: Calendar Quarter 1, 2019 - NH REC Eligible Biomass Power Plants | | | | | | | | | |
|--|--|-------|---|-----------------------|-------------|--|--|--|--|
| Docket # or REC # | Facility Name | Class | Address | NH Certification # | GIS Unit IE | | | | |
| DE 08-044 | Granite Shore Power (GSP) Schiller Station # 5 ¹ | I | 400 Gosling Rd., Portsmouth, NH 03801 | NH-I-08-006 | MSS557 | | | | |
| DE 12-091 V | Berlin Station, LLC | I | One Community St., Berlin, NH 03570 | NH-I-12-019 | MSS16653 | | | | |
| DE 13-265 🗸 | Pinetree Power-Fitchburg, Inc. | III | 2 Rowtier Dr., Westminster, MA 01473 | NH-III-13-133 | MSS538 | | | | |
| DE 14-007 🗸 | Ryegate Power Station | III | 247 Weesner Drive, East Ryegate, VT 05042 | NH-III-14-006 | MSS2433 | | | | |
| DE 14-209 🗸 | Bridgewater Power Company ² | III | Route 3, Bridgewater, NH 03222 | NH-III-14-085 | MSS357 | | | | |
| DE 09-104 V | Springfield Power LLC | III/I | 54 Fisher Corner Road, Springfield, NH | NH-III-10-029 | MSS436 | | | | |
| | | | 03284 | NH-I-10-030 | | | | | |
| RREC 17- 90015 | DG Whitefield, LLC | III | 260 Airport Road, Whitefield, NH 03598 | NH-III-17- NF90016 | MSS618 | | | | |

¹ Formerly Eversource Energy, formerly Public Service Company of New Hampshire (PSNH).

² Bridgewater Power Company qualifies for NH Class III RECs according to RSA 362-F:11, IV, which allows for a biomass facility that does not meet the particulate (TSP) requirements, but would otherwise qualify for NH RECs, to submit a plan to DES that demonstrates quantifiable emission reductions. The plan is approved by the DES, and the Commission has certified the facility in accordance with the plan approved by the DES.

| DE 08-051 Pinetree Power-Tamworth | III | 469 Plains Road, Tamworth, NH 03886 | NH-III-08-005 | MSS592 |
|--|-----|--|---------------|--------|
| DE 08-024 Pinetree Power, Inc. – Bethlehem | III | 1241 Whitefield Rd., Bethlehem, NH 03574 | NH-III-08-004 | MSS337 |

A list of thermal biomass facilities that have been recommended by the DES <u>and</u> approved by the Commission as thermal renewable energy sources is provided below as **Table 2: Calendar Quarter 1, 2019 - Conditionally Approved Thermal Biomass Sources**. These facilities meet average emission rates of 0.10 lb/MMBtu for TSP and best management practices for NOx.

Please note that Sullivan County Complex is newly approved this quarter.

| Docket # or REC # | Facility Name | Class | 19 - Conditionally Approved Thermal Biomass Address | NH Certification | GIS Unit ID |
|----------------------|----------------------------------|-------|--|------------------|-------------|
| DE 14-182 | Littleton Regional Healthcare | IT | 600 St. Johnsbury Road, Littleton, NH 03561 | NH-IT-14-094 | NON41354 |
| DE 14-296 V | Androscoggin Valley Hospital | IT | 59 Page Hill Road, Berlin NH 03570 | NH-IT-14-144 | NON43842 |
| REC 15-081 | Warwick Mills | IT | 301 Turnpike Road, New Ipswich, NH 03071 | NH-IT-15-181 | NON47531 |
| REC 16-546 / | The Holderness School | IT | 21 Mt. Prospect Road, Holderness, NH 03245 | NH-IT-16-499 | NON58196 |
| RREC 16-1214 | Froling Energy | IT | 590 Hancock Road, Peterborough, NH 03458 | NH-IT-17-90032 | NON95026 |
| RREC 17- 90017 | Keene State College – Heat Plant | IT | 229 Main Street, Keene, NH 03435 | NH-IT-NF90031 | NON103053 |
| RREC 18-0351 | Merrimack County DOC | П | 333 DW Highway, Boscawen, NH 03303 | NH-18-IT-0268 | NON108457 |
| RREC 18-0485 | Rockingham County Complex | IT | 116 North Road, Brentwood, NH 03833 | NH-18-IT-0418 | NON108437 |
| RREC 19-0181 | Sullivan County Complex | IT | 5 Nursing Home Drive, Unity, NH 03743 | NH-19-IT-0204 | NON135812 |

Quarterly Emission Verification Summary reports will no longer list previously approved thermal facilities that are rated less than 3 MMBtu/hr design gross heat input as they are required to meet best management practices determined by DES during initial eligibility certification and do not require quarterly testing and approval. There were no newly eligible small (<3 MMBtu/hr) thermal renewable energy sources certified during calendar quarter 1, 2019.

If you have any questions regarding the DES recommendations, please contact Joe Fontaine at joseph.fontaine@des.nh.gov or 603-271-6794. Other questions should be directed to Jason Morse at jason.Morse@puc.nh.gov or 603-271-7965.

Sincerely,

Debra A. Howland Executive Director

cc: Joe Fontaine, NHDES
Jason Morse, NHPUC

Printed: 5/8/2019

ExecutiveDirector@puc.nh.gov
jody.carmody@puc.nh.gov
joseph.fontaine@des.nh.gov
moleary@bridgewater-os.com
ocalitigation@oca.nh.gov
rolson@rolsonlawoffice.com
amanda.noonan@puc.nh.gov
barbara.bernstein@puc.nh.gov
Jack.ruderman@pue.nh.gov
leszek.stachow@puc.nh.gov
paul.dexter@puc.nh.gov
tom.frantz@puc.nh.gov