STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

COMMISSIONER Jared S. Chicoine

DEPUTY COMMISSIONER Christopher J. Ellms, Jr.



TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964

Tel. (603) 271-3670

FAX No. 271-1526

Website: www.energy.nh.gov

March 13, 2024

The Honorable Daniel C. Goldner, Chairman New Hampshire Public Utilities Commission 21 South Fruit Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Re: Docket No. DW 23-101 Pennichuck Water Works, Inc., Pittsfield Aqueduct Company, and Pennichuck East Utility, Inc. Joint Petition for Merger and a Consolidated Rate Structure – DOE Request for Suspension of Tariff

Dear Chairman Goldner:

On March 13, 2024, Pennichuck Water Works, Inc., Pittsfield Aqueduct Company, and Pennichuck Wast Utility, Inc. (Joint Petitioners) filed a corrected tariff in the instant docket. The tariff provides that the effective date shall be March 8, 2025.

The Department of Energy (DOE), Joint Petitioners, and Intervenors to this docket agreed to, and the Commission approved by procedural order dated March 4, 2024, a procedural schedule which offered a settlement track and a litigated track. ¹ While the parties are hopeful that this matter will conclude with a settlement consistent with the approved procedural schedule, it is not clear whether this docket will proceed on the settlement or litigation track contemplated therein. As such, the DOE requests that the Commission suspend the tariff for the full 12-month period authorized under RSA 378:6, I(a).

Pursuant to current commission policy this filing is being made electronically only.

Sincerely,

Matthew C. Young

Hearings Examiner/Staff Attorney

cc: Docket Service List

¹ The Commission approved an amendment to this procedural schedule on March 7, 2024.

an official NH Government website

View Service Lists

f (../I

(../Regulatory/regulatory.htm)

аАА

Service List - Docket Related

Docket# : 23-101 Printed: 3/13/2024

Email Addresses

ClerksOffice@puc.nh.gov Suzanne.G.Amidon1@energy.nh.gov wfa@rathlaw.com Marie-Helene.B.Bailinson@energy.nh.gov john.boisvert@pennichuck.com boltons@nashuanh.gov mab@nhbrownlaw.com chris.countie@pennichuck.com mcourtney@uptonhatfield.com Michael.J.Crouse@oca.nh.gov Energy-Litigation@energy.nh.gov robyn.j.descoteau@energy.nh.gov lori.douglas@pennichuck.com julia.gagnon@pennichuck.com david.n.goyette@energy.nh.gov jay.kerrigan@pennichuck.com jayson.p.laflamme@energy.nh.gov anthony.j.leone@energy.nh.gov rlirette@sheehan.com jlyon@sheehan.com karen.j.moran@energy.nh.gov ocalitigation@oca.nh.gov mosbon@uptonhatfield.com laura@mitchellmunigroup.com laura@mitchellmunigroup.com jjs@rathlaw.com George.Torres@Pennichuck.com smw@rathlaw.com donald.ware@pennichuck.com Matthew.C.Young@energy.nh.gov

Without Email Addresses

ΑII

ClerksOffice@puc.nh.gov

Suzanne G Amidon
Department of Energy
21 South Fruit St Ste 10
Concord NH 03301
Suzanne.G.Amidon1@energy.nh.gov

William F Ardinger Rath, Young & Pignatelli, P.C. One Capitol Plaza Concord NH 03301 wfa@rathlaw.com

Marie-Helene Bailinson-Georges New Hampshire Department of Energy

Marie-Helene.B.Bailinson@energy.nh.gov

John Boisvert
Pennichuck Water Works, Inc.

john.boisvert@pennichuck.com

Steven Bolton
City of Nashua
229 Main St.
Nashua NH 03061-2019
boltons@nashuanh.gov

Marcia A Brown NH Brown Law, PLLC 20 Noble Street Somersworth NH 03878 mab@nhbrownlaw.com

Chris Countie
Pennichuck Corporations

chris.countie@pennichuck.com

Michael Courtney
Town of Bedford

mcourtney@uptonhatfield.com

Michael Crouse
Office of Consumer Advocate

Michael.J.Crouse@oca.nh.gov

Department of Energy
Department of Energy
21 South Fruit St Ste 10
Concord NH 03301
Energy-Litigation@energy.nh.gov

Robyn J Descoteau
Department of Energy
21 South Fruit St Ste 10
Concord NH 03301
robyn.j.descoteau@energy.nh.gov

Lori Douglas Pennichuck East Utility, Inc.

lori.douglas@pennichuck.com

Julia Gagnon Pennichuck East Utility, Inc.

julia.gagnon@pennichuck.com

David N Goyette
Department of Energy
21 South Fruit St Ste 10
Concord NH 03301
david.n.goyette@energy.nh.gov

Jay Kerrigan
Pennichuck Corporations
25 Manchester St
Merrimack NH 03054
jay.kerrigan@pennichuck.com

Jayson P Laflamme
Department of Energy
21 South Fruit St Ste 10
Concord NH 03301
jayson.p.laflamme@energy.nh.gov

Anthony J Leone
Department of Energy
21 South Fruit St Ste 10
Concord NH 03301
anthony.j.leone@energy.nh.gov

Ryan Lirette
Sheehan Phinney Bass & Green
1000 Elm Street
Manchester NH 03105-3701
rlirette@sheehan.com

Jennifer P Lyon

jlyon@sheehan.com

Karen J Moran
Department of Energy
21 South Fruit St Ste 10
Concord NH 03301
karen.j.moran@energy.nh.gov

OCA Litigation
OCA Litigation
21 South Fruit St Ste 18
Concord NH 03301
ocalitigation@oca.nh.gov

Madeleine Osbon Town of Bedford

mosbon@uptonhatfield.com

Laura A Spector-Morgan Mitchell Municipal Group, PA 25 Beacon St East Laconia NH 03246 laura@mitchellmunigroup.com

Laura A Spector-Morgan Mitchell Municipal Group, PA 25 Beacon St East Laconia NH 03246 laura@mitchellmunigroup.com

James Steinkrauss Rath, Young & Pignatelli, P.C.

jjs@rathlaw.com

George Torres
Pennichuck Corporations

George.Torres@Pennichuck.com

Susan Walker Rath, Young & Pignatelli, P.C. One Capital Plaza Concord NH 03302-1500 smw@rathlaw.com

Don Ware
Pennichuck Water Works, Inc.
25 Manchester Street
Merrimack NH 03054-1947
donald.ware@pennichuck.com

Matthew C Young
Department of Energy
21 South Fruit St Ste 10
Concord NH 03301
Matthew.C.Young@energy.nh.gov