COMMISSIONER Jared S. Chicoine

DEPUTY COMMISSIONER Christopher J. Ellms, Jr.

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE



DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY 21 S. Fruit St., Suite 10 Concord, N.H. 03301-2429

May 17, 2023

Daniel C. Goldner, Chairman Public Utilities Commission 21 S. Fruit Street Concord, NH 03301-2429

Re: DW 20-117 Hampstead Area Water Company, Inc., Request for Change in Rates, DOE's Review of HAWC's Step I UPDATED Compliance Tariff

Dear Chairman Goldner:

On May 15, 2023, Hampstead Area Water Company, Inc. ("HAWC" or "the Company") filed <u>updated</u> compliance tariff pages, which purported to adopt the changes the Department of Energy ("the Department" or "DOE") requested in a letter filed earlier on the same day, May 15, 2023.

The Department's Water Division has reviewed the Company's updated tariff pages and finds that the pages now include the changes the Department recommended earlier. Accordingly, the Department hereby notifies the Commission that, in the opinion of the Department, HAWC's updated tariff pages First Revised Page 1 and Sixth Revised Page 34 comply with the Commission's Order No. 26,809 (April 28, 2023) and with the requirements of NH Code of Admin Rules Puc 1603. Therefore, the Department recommends the Commission approve the updated tariff pages.

Consistent with the Commission's current practice, this letter is being filed in electronic form. The Department appreciates the opportunity to comment on HAWC's proposed compliance tariff pages.

Respectfully Submitted,

/s/ Mary E. Schwarzer

Mary.E. Schwarzer Staff Attorney/Hearings Examiner TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964

Tel. (603) 271-3670

Website: www.energy.nh.gov

Cc: Service list

ClerksOffice@puc.nh.gov aaugeri@lewisbuilders.com adminasst@townofdanville.org ahansen@atkinson-nh.gov amanda.o.noonan@energy.nh.govanthony.j.leone@energy.nh.gov bethc@atkinson-nh.gov charlie@hampsteadwater.com chris@atkinsoncc.com cressmandg@atkinson-nh.gov david.n.goyette@energy.nh.gov dfox@raftelis.com dmullinax@blueridgecs.com donald.m.kreis@oca.nh.gov douglas.brogan@gmail.com Energy-Litigation@energy.nh.gov gspero@atkinson-nh.gov harold@lewisbuilders.com hfdfpb@comcast.net howard@energytactics.com htombarello@lewisbuilders.com japple@atkinson-nh.gov jayson.p.laflamme@energy.nh.gov john@lewisbuilders.com k.Alan.richards@gmail.com karen.j.moran@energy.nh.gov karen.sue.steele@gmail.com lojogut@gmail.com mary.e.schwarzer@energy.nh.gov mworthen@hampsteadnh.us nm1w@nm1w.com ocalitigation@oca.nh.gov robyn.j.descoteau@energy.nh.gov sally.theriault@comcast.net sambosox@gmail.com shawn oneil@mail.rit.edu

smorse@hampsteadnh.us smurphy@hampsteadnh.us sspyveewater@gmail.com stephenpstcyr@yahoo.com tklaes@blueridgecs.com wbaldwin@atkinson-nh.gov