PRIMMER PIPER CRAMERPC

Burlington

Montpelier

St. Johnsbury

Gary H. Barnes Victoria J. Brown James E. Clemons Anne E. Cramer Denise J. Deschenes

Andrew K. Bralev

Elijah D. Emerson

David P. Hall

Shireen T. Hart

Jon R. Eggleston Gary L. Franklin Jeffrey P. Johnson Gary F. Karnedy Paul J. Phillips William B. Piper Stephen A. Reynes Gail E. Westgate Douglas J. Wolinsky

Keith M. Jones Cassandra C. LaRae-Perez Lagretta D. Nickles Russell A. Young Keith A. Roberts Randall L. Wachsmann Joslyn L. Wilschek

Of Counsel
Martin K. Miller Patricia L. Rickard
John L. Primmer Neil Wheelwright

Government Relations James F. Feehan

VIA HAND DELIVERY

December 4, 2007

Ms. Debra Howland Executive Director and Secretary New Hampshire Public Utilities Commission 21 South Fruit Street Concord, NH 03301



Re: DT 07-027 (Petitions of Four TDS Telecom Companies for Alternate Regulation)

Dear Ms. Howland:

This letter is filed on behalf of Granite State Telephone, Inc. ("Granite State"), an intervenor in the above-referenced matter. An additional seven (7) copies are enclosed for your use.

Granite State has reviewed the proposed Settlement Agreement and the accompanying request to waive the provisions of Puc 203.20(e), as filed by counsel for the TDS Telecom Petitioners on December 3, 2007. Although Granite State does not intend to sign onto the Settlement Agreement, Granite State has no objection to the Commission's adoption of the Settlement Agreement for purposes of resolving the litigation in this matter. Granite State also does not object to the requested waiver of Puc 203.20(e), which, if granted, will allow the Commission to consider adoption of the Settlement Agreement during the hearings scheduled to begin today.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Paul J. Phillips

Sincerely,

Counsel for Granite State Telephone, Inc.

PJP:

cc: Electronic-Mail Service List, DT 07-027

Susan Rand King, President, Granite State Telephone, Inc.

State of New Hampshire Before the New Hampshire Public Utilities Commission

DT 07-027

Petition of Kearsarge Telephone Company, Merrimack County Telephone Company, Wilton Telephone Company and Hollis Telephone Company for an Alternate Form of Regulation

SERVICE LIST

Original + 8 Copies + E-mail:

Debra A. Howland Executive Director & Secretary N.H. Public Utilities Commission 21 S. Fruit St., Suite 10 Concord, NH 03301-2429 executive.director@puc.nh.gov

1 Copy Each (or by E-mail if E-mail Address Shown):

F. Anne Ross, Esq.
Staff Attorney
N.H. Public Utilities Commission
21 S. Fruit St., Suite 10
Concord, NH 03301-2429
F.Anne.Ross@puc.nh.gov

Lynn Fabrizio, Esq.
Staff Attorney
N.H. Public Utilities Commission
21 S. Fruit St., Suite 10
Concord, NH 03301-2429
Lynn.Fabrizio@puc.nh.gov

Meredith A. Hatfield Office of Consumer Advocate 21 S. Fruit St, Suite 18 Concord, N.H. 03301-2429 meredith.hatfield@puc.nh.gov

Stephen R.Eckberg, Utility Analyst Office of Consumer Advocate 21 S. Fruit St, Suite 18 Concord, N.H. 03301-2429 Steve.Merrill@puc.nh.gov

Frederick J. Coolbroth, Esq. Devine Millimet & Branch, P.A. 49 North Main Street, P.O. Box 3610 Concord, NH 03302 fcoolbroth@devinemillimet.com

Joseph G. Donahue, Esq. Preti Flaherty Beliveau & Pachios LLP 45 Memorial Circle, P.O. Box 1058 Augusta, ME 04332-1058 jdonahue@preti.com

Linda S. Lockhart, Esq.
Preti Flaherty Beliveau & Pachios LLP
45 Memorial Circle, P.O. Box 1058
Augusta, ME 04332-1058
Ilockhart@preti.com

Susan S. Geiger, Esq.
Orr & Reno, P.A.
One Eagle Square, P.O. Box 3550
Concord, NH 03302-3550
sgeiger@orr-reno.com

Jeremy L. Katz segTEL, Inc. P.O. Box 610 Lebanan, NH 03766 jeremy@segtel.com

Michael C. Reed TDS Telecom 24 Depot Square Northfield, VT 05663 mike.reed@tdstelecom.com

Debra A. Martone TDS Telecom P.O. Box 337 11 Kearsarge Avenue Contoocook, NH 03229-0337 debra.martone@tdstelecom.com

Jasper C. Thayer, Vice President Union Communications 7 Central Street Farmington, NH 03835 jthayer@utel.com

Darren R. Winslow Union Communications 13 Central Street, P.O. Box 577 Farmington, NH 03901 dwinslow@utel.com

Alan Linder
New Hampshire Legal Assistance
48 South Main Street
Concord, NH 03301
alinder@nhla.org

Daniel Feltes
New Hampshire Legal Assistance
154 High Street, P.O. Box 778
Portsmouth, NH 03802
dfeltes@nhla.org

Susan Rand King, President Granite State Telephone, Inc 600 South Stark Hwy., P.O. Box 87 Weare, NH 03281 srand@gstnetworks.com

Christian Rand, Vice President Granite State Telephone, Inc. 600 South Stark Hwy., P.O. Box 87 Weare, NH 03281 crand@gstnetworks.com

William Stafford, Chief Oper. Officer Granite State Telephone, Inc. 600 South Stark Hwy., P.O. Box 87 Weare, NH 03281 bstafford@gstnetworks.com