Home > Regulatory > Commissioners & Staff

Commissioners & Staff

Commissioners are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Governor's Council for six year staggered terms. Staff: 70.


  Dianne Martin, Chairwoman 

Dianne Martin was appointed to serve as Chair of the New Hampshire Public Utilities Commission in September 2019.  Dianne’s term on the Commission is for six years and concludes on June 30, 2025.  Prior to being appointed as Chairwoman of the PUC, Dianne Martin was Associate Attorney General and Chief-of-Staff at the New Hampshire Department of Justice.  She previously served in the Attorney General’s Office in various other roles, including as legal counsel for procurement and contracts on behalf of all State agencies, in the Transportation and Construction Bureau as legal counsel representing the State in all legal matters, and in the Civil Bureau representing agencies in civil litigation before state and federal courts.  Before joining the Department of Justice in 2004, Chair Martin served as legal counsel for the Division for Juvenile Justice and as liaison to the New Hampshire Legislature.

Chair Martin is a graduate of Saint Anselm College and received her Juris Doctor from Boston College Law School. She was admitted to the New Hampshire bar and New Hampshire U.S. District Court bar in 2002 and to the United States Supreme Court bar in 2014.

Kathryn Bailey Kathryn M. Bailey, Commissioner

Kate Bailey was appointed to serve as a Commissioner on the New Hampshire Public Utilities Commission in July 2015.  Kate’s term on the Commission is for six years and concludes on June 30, 2021.  She was appointed NESCOE Manager in July 2017 to work with managers from each New England state to govern the regional organization that represents the collective perspective of the six states in regional electricity matters.  Kate also serves on New Hampshire’s Site Evaluation Committee, Enhanced 911 Commission, the NECPUC Executive Board, and the NARUC Committee on Electricity.

Kate joined the PUC staff in 1989 and went on to hold various positions, including Director of Telecommunications and Chief Engineer. Having joined the Commission shortly after the breakup of AT&T, she guided the regulatory transition in New Hampshire from rate-of-return monopoly telephone utilities to the predominantly deregulated competitive environment. Prior to her time at the Commission, she was commissioned in the Air Force where she served as a communications officer. After an honorable discharge from active duty, she was hired as a contractor to the federal government and worked on a microwave communications project throughout central Europe.

Commissioner Bailey holds a Bachelor of Science degree from Union College in electrical engineering and she is a licensed professional engineer.

Michael S. Giaimo, Commissioner

Michael Giaimo was appointed to serve as a Commissioner with the New Hampshire Public Utilities Commission in August 2017.  Michael’s term on the Commission is for six years and concludes June 30, 2023.  Beyond his responsibilities with the PUC, he is a member of the state’s Site Evaluation Committee, which is the regulatory body responsible for reviewing the planning, siting, construction and operation of energy facilities within New Hampshire.  Michael is a member of the New England Conference of Public Utilities Commissioners (NECPUC) and the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) and serves on committees and in various capacities with NECPUC and NARUC.  He is also a Director on the Board of Directors for the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative, Inc.

Prior to joining the PUC, Michael worked in the External Affairs Department for ISO New England (ISO).  While there, he supported the ISO’s outreach plans for regional system planning, wholesale electricity markets, and power system emergencies. Michael managed relationships with legislators, regulators, and policymakers, and at one time or another during his decade-long tenure was ISO’s primary contact in Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Vermont.  Prior to joining the ISO in 2007, Michael spent 8 years as Vice President responsible for energy and environmental affairs for the Business & Industry Association of New Hampshire. 

Commissioner Giaimo earned his Bachelor of Arts degree in history, cum laude, from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, and his Juris Doctor from Suffolk University Law School.


  Debra A. Howland, Executive Director
David Shulock, General Counsel
David K Wiesner, Director, Legal Division
Kath Mullholand, Director, Regulatory Innovation and Strategy
Amanda O. Noonan, Director, Consumer Services and External Affairs Division
Randall S. Knepper, P.E., Director, Safety Division
Thomas C. Frantz, Director, Electric Division
Karen P. Cramton, Director, Sustainable Energy Division
Stephen P. Frink, Director, Gas and Water Division
Karen J. Moran, Chief Auditor, Audit Division


An Official Web Site for New Hampshire Government