COMMISSIONER Jared S. Chicoine

DEPUTY COMMISSIONER Christopher J. Ellms, Jr.

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE



DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY 21 S. Fruit St., Suite 10 Concord, N.H. 03301-2429

March 7, 2024

Daniel C. Goldner, Chairman New Hampshire Public Utilities Commission 21 South Fruit Street Concord, NH 03301-2429

Re: DE 23-054 Unitil Energy Systems, Inc. 2023 Default Service Schedule – DOE Technical Statement Regarding Unitil's Proposal

Dear Chairman Goldner:

On December 8, 2023, the Commission issued Order No. 26,910, in which it required Unitil Energy Systems, Inc. (UES or the Company) to file a proposal for an ISO-New England market-based procurement tranche of 10 to 20 percent, through whatever combination of direct Day Ahead and Real-Time ISO-New England market acquisitions the Company finds advisable, for the Company's upcoming August 2024-January 2025 energy service period for its small and medium customer groups, to be assessed by the Commission in a future phase of this proceeding. UES submitted this filing on January 22, 2024.

On February 8, 2024 the Commission issued a Supplemental Order of Notice to assess the proposal and directed the Department of Energy to submit its position regarding Unitil's proposal by March 7, 2024. As such, enclosed please find the Technical Statement of Stephen R. Eckberg regarding the Company's proposal.

Pursuant to current Commission policy, this filing is being made electronically only.

Sincerely,

Motto C. Mary

Matthew C. Young Hearings Examiner/Staff Attorney

Enclosure cc: Docket Service List TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964

Tel. (603) 271-3670

Website: www.energy.nh.gov

View Service Lists

(../Regulatory/regulatory.htm)

ClerksOffice@puc.nh.gov

Service List - Docket Related

Docket# : 23-054

A A A

Printed: 3/7/2024

Email Addresses

Suzanne.G.Amidon1@energy.nh.gov asbury@unitil.com Scott.T.Balise@energy.nh.gov conneely@unitil.com Michael.J.Crouse@oca.nh.gov daveya@unitil.com Deana.Dennis@CommunityPowerNH.gov Energy-Litigation@energy.nh.gov Stephen.R.Eckberg@energy.nh.gov thomas.c.frantz@energy.nh.gov furino@unitil.com main@unitil.com elizabeth.r.nixon@energy.nh.gov amanda.o.noonan@energy.nh.gov ocalitigation@oca.nh.gov pentzj@unitil.com taylorp@unitil.com Matthew.C.Young@energy.nh.gov

Without Email Addresses

All

ClerksOffice@puc.nh.gov

3/7/24, 7:25 AM

View Service List

Suzanne G Amidon Department of Energy 21 South Fruit St Ste 10 Concord NH 03301 Suzanne.G.Amidon1@energy.nh.gov

Karen Asbury Unitil Svc Corp. 6 Liberty Lane West Hampton NH 03842-1720 asbury@unitil.com

Scott T Balise Department of Energy 21 South Fruit St Ste 10 Concord NH 03301 Scott.T.Balise@energy.nh.gov

Joseph Conneely Unitil Energy Systems, Inc.

conneely@unitil.com

Michael Crouse Office of Consumer Advocate

Michael.J.Crouse@oca.nh.gov

Alice Davey Unitil Energy Systems, Inc.

daveya@unitil.com

Deana Dennis Community Power Coalition of New Hampshire

Deana.Dennis@CommunityPowerNH.gov

Department of Energy Department of Energy 21 South Fruit St Ste 10 Concord NH 03301 Energy-Litigation@energy.nh.gov Stephen Eckberg Department of Energy

Stephen.R.Eckberg@energy.nh.gov

Thomas C Frantz Department of Energy 21 South Fruit St Ste 10 Concord NH 03301 thomas.c.frantz@energy.nh.gov

Robert Furino Unitil Service Corporation 6 Liberty Lane West Hampton NH 03842 furino@unitil.com

Daniel Main Northern Utilities, Inc. 6 Liberty Lane West Hampton NH 03842 main@unitil.com

Liz R Nixon Department of Energy 21 South Fruit St Ste 10 Concord NH 03301 elizabeth.r.nixon@energy.nh.gov

Amanda O Noonan Department of Energy 21 South Fruit St Ste 10 Concord NH 03301 amanda.o.noonan@energy.nh.gov

OCA Litigation OCA Litigation 21 South Fruit St Ste 18 Concord NH 03301 ocalitigation@oca.nh.gov

Jeff Pentz Unitil Energy Systems, Inc.

pentzj@unitil.com

Patrick H Taylor Unitil Energy Systems, Inc. 6 Liberty Lane West Hampton NH 03842 taylorp@unitil.com

Matthew C Young Department of Energy 21 South Fruit St Ste 10 Concord NH 03301 Matthew.C.Young@energy.nh.gov